Our Sponsors

The Handmade Quilt - Discussion

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Handmade Quilt - Discussion

Post your questions, comments, etc. about The Handmade Quilt project here.

Hi Dee, on this week's live, someone asked about the book
    I always watch it delayed due to time difference.
    I live in South Australia and knew I couldn't get the book quick enough from USA quick enough and that the postage would be outrageous. I purchased mine from ' The book depository' and it arrived within a week.
    I will attempt all by hand. I've completed the first part and ready to start this weeks. I work full time and I'm new at using patterns but after completing my Colour my World I am so excited to learn more tips and tricks. Thanks Dee.

Comment

I don't know where to ask this question about hand quilting . a while back I finished a quilt by hand quilting using what I called a mennonite stitch . It was done using perle cotton, a "doll needle" (maybe 3-4 inches long), After the quilt was sandwiched - you threaded the needle with enough thread to go across the width of the quilt - starting in the batting layer, coming up through the top , taking a small (not tiny) back stitch, needle goes back in through to the backing, comes up through the top, and if I remember correctly goes only through to the batting and the needle comes up the length of the needle away through the quilt top for the next stitch. I cannot find any on line or printed instructions for this. Anybody out there that can help. I wanted to teach it to another quilter to use instead of traditional tying. Thanks in advance. I do have the quilt here where I can take a photo but the actual stitches don't show up well.

Comment

• Treza commented
        Editing a comment
        Hi Mary, I'm not familiar with mennonite quilting but I googled and a couple of you tube videos came up. One called it a tacking stitch the other knot tyeing stitch.
        It sounds interesting.

Hi Everyone,