Our Sponsors

Ring of small houses—show yours here

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ring of small houses—show yours here

Use this Topic to show your completed ring of small houses. I am eager to see them.

BARBARA BLACK
    Barbara Black
    Huntsville AL
    https://bbquiltmaker.blogspot.com
    "I am a part of all that I have met." A. Lord Tennyson

I'm not sure I'm posting this to the right place on the forum. Please forgive me if it's not! I have a question about sewing the pairs of houses together. I am relatively new to patchwork and the BOM is going well so far - I think because of the freezer paper to help with accuracy. I'm nervous about sewing the houses together accurately without the foundation paper. Would it help to spray them with starch before sewing? I have not used any starch on my fabrics (or ever before for that matter) - not for cutting or piecing. Would it mess things up to starch now? I have practiced sewing an accurate 1/4" seam and used tape to mark 1/4" on my machine. Just wondering if that's enough. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!

Comment

• Patricia B. commented
      Editing a comment
      I wouldn’t starch now as you run the risk of the houses shrinking when the starch dampens the materials. They will sew together fine as they are, just use a 1/4” seam and like Barbara said in her video start from the bottom as the top will be evened up by the trees.

• leahg commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you Patricia!

Comment

• Anita W. commented
      Editing a comment
      I feel like an ARCHITECT.
      I broke my leg in December and could not bear weight on it for 3.5 months. So I worked on my small houses and compass during March. If was SO MUCH FUN!!!

• Barbara B. commented
      Editing a comment
      Love your background fabric.

BARBARA BLACK

• Quilting2021 commented
      Editing a comment
      Nice colors and I like the background as well.
    This topic by Primera has been deleted by Primera